Willesden Jewish Cemetery ‘House of Life’ Heritage Project
January 29, 2019
Funding of up to £1,000 for heritage sector women available
February 8, 2019

AHI 2019 Discover Heritage Awards

The AHI 2019 Discover Heritage Awards, sponsored by NovaDura Ltd, celebrate and recognise excellence in cultural and natural heritage interpretation in the UK and Ireland. They are open to entry with a deadline for all categories of 30 April 2019.

Eligible projects are ones publicly launched between 1st April 2017 and 30 April 2019.

Do you have a great new exhibition, trail or experience that tells visitors and communities about their heritage? Would you like the world to know about it? The AHI Awards shine a spotlight on great interpretation from museums and historic houses to wildlife reserves and events. They are the only Awards for all types of interpretation in the UK and Ireland to be judged by interpreters.
The Awards provide national recognition and publicity for winning and shortlisted sites and feedback on all entries. Previous winners have included Lifting the Lid off the Vyne, Bannockburn Battlefield, British Museum, National Trust, Seamus Heaney HomePlace and Ruskin-in-Sheffield.

As Loyd Grossman CBE, AHI Patron, said about previous winners “award winners showed a wide range of exciting and innovative interpretation all aimed at helping the public to get more enjoyment, more education and more benefit from our outstanding natural and cultural heritage.

There are five Awards categories you can choose to enter:

  • Museums and historic properties/sites – sponsored by Minerva Heritage.
  • Outdoors - Urban and Rural – sponsored by The Way Design.
  • Visitor and interpretation centres – sponsored by HDC International.
  • Volunteer and Community Projects – sponsored by Bright.
  • Events and Activities – sponsorship still available.

Category winners go on to challenge for the prestigious AHI Award for Excellence.

You can enter your project, exhibition or event online at https://ahi.org.uk/awards. You can find full instructions on how to enter and the downloadable entry form there. Winners will be announced by Loyd Grossman during a gala awards ceremony held at the AHI annual conference in Bedford on 10 October 2019.